Hannu Aukia Wins The Finnish Music Video Contest Main Prize

Director Hannu Aukia won the main prize, Golden Pumpeli, with his video Pariisin Kevät - Kesäyö. The award of upcoming director, Teen Pumpeli, was handed out to Tommi Kainulainen for his video Puhti - Sipiläs. Tuomas Petsalo won the audience award People's Pumpeli with Stam1na - Valtiaan uudet vaateet.

Honorary mentions:

Huoratron – Cryptocracy , dir. Lauri Warsta
Von Hertzen Brothers – Always Been Right, dir. Nazal Delay
Chisu – Kohtalon oma, dir. Misko Iho
Streak and the Raven – Speed of Light, dir. Otto Kylmälä
Stam1na – Puolikas Ihminen, dir. Jouni Kallio
Mirel Wagner – No Death, dir. Aki Roukala

The Jury of the contest included Finnish actor and director Lauri Nurkse, music journalist from Rumba magazine, Mikael Helenius, and Oulu-based expert of audiovisual fields, Anne Laurila, who also chaired the jury. The results were published at Pumpeli Award Gala that in addition to presenting the finest Finnish music videos of the year, yet again offered an entertaining show to the festival audience. 

In 2012, Oulu Music Video Festival received a record-breaking number, altogether 262 videos made by Finnish directors for Finnish artists and bands to the 19th Finnish Music Video Contest. The Music Video Contest focuses in the visual implementation of music. OMVF sees music video as a genre of its own, a form of a short film promoting music.