The 13th Oulu Music Video Festival was celebrated during the new festival date September 6-10, 2006. For five days the audienced was treated with 115 music video and film screenings, performance spectacles and theatre acts. Like in previous years, the festival's most popular screenings were those of the Finnish Music Video Contest. The most visited Special Screenings included concert documentary Sentenced - Buried Alive, a history of punk rock Punk's Not Dead, air guitar documentary Air Guitar Nation and B-Boy cult film The Freshest Kids - A History of the B-Boy. The festival week highlighted in a sold-out spectacle of Luis Buñuel's Un Chien Andalou accompanied by the Northern Flamenco.

The Finnish Music Video Contest and Showcase broke all previous records and screened 182 videos, totalling 14 hours in length. The contest was crowned by the Bollywood-ish Pumpeli Award Gala, hosted once again by the editor-in-chief of the Finnish youth magazine Suosikki, Katja Ståhl. Over 800 people cheered to the winning videos and surprise artists, such as Samuli Putro and The Others, formed by the members of 22 Pistepirkko.

Air Guitar World Championships was celebrated with the mood high up in the Club Teatria ceiling. The world greeted the new world champion, Japanese Ochi "Dainoji" Yosuke, who played air on "Are You Gonna Be My Girl" by Jets. Dainoji and his rock credible performance brought the top prize to Japan for the first time. The night served also performances from the Finnish acts The Sweatmaster and The Crash.

The OMVF 2006 attracted around 12 000 visitors.

The Finnish Music Video Contest

Jury: Media Scholar, Doc.Soc.Sc. Jukka Kortti, Festival Programmer/Sheffield International Documentary Film Festival Sirkka Möller and the Radio Station YleX judge, student Maria Mänty


Golden Pumpeli Award: Lauri Warsta & Jouni Karttunen - Magyar Posse: Whirpool of Terror and Tension

Teen Pumpeli Award: CHRZU - Velcra: Memory Loss

People's Pumpeli Award: Lauri Warsta & Jouni Karttunen - Magyar Posse: Whirpool of Terror and Tension

Honorary Mentions:
Akseli Tuomivaara - Don Johnson Big Band: Road
Matleena Jänis & Emilia Lehtinen - Aavikko: Una Lira Soluzione
Miikka Lommi - Ninja: Fashion
Hannes Häyhä - Lodger: Satan
Teemu Auersalo - Leningrad Cowboys: You're My Heart, You're My Soul
Jussi-Petri Kemppainen - Zarkus: Huudetaan

Special Screenings

Floria Sigismondi Retrospective / Dawn Shadforth Retrospective/ Taku Kaskela Retrospective/ Air Guitar Nation / Punk's Not Dead / The Rock & Roll Adventures of Super Groupie - Cynthia Plaster Caster / The First Lady of Bass - Carol Kaye / Madonna Retrospective/ Björk Retrospectivei / Dancer in the Dark / Tori Amos - Fade to Red / Ladies Behind the Lens - Videos by Finnish Female Directors 1994-2005 / Powerful Women in Pop and Rock / The High Heels of Rock / The Freshest Kids - A History of the B-Boy / Dancing for Oliver / Kazuo Ohno : I Dance into the Light / Dirty Dancing / Ginga - The Soul of Brazilian Football / Viva La Dance - The Beginnings of Ciné-Dance / Transistori Plays Toppilan Tehdas / Nightwish - A Day Before Tomorrow / Sentenced - Buried Alive / loudQUIETloud: A Film about the Pixies / Rannalta toiselle - Documentary on Scandinavian Music Group / Death Cab for a Cutie - Directions / Glastonbury 2006 / Coachella: The Movie / The Life and Times of Allen Ginsberg / Searching for the Wrong-Eyed Jesus / Winning Poems of the Runoraati TV Programme / Poetry Meets Avantgarde (a performance)/ Unique Unicorn or a Corny Nag? - An Improvised Play / Theatre Airopik presents: Mari varkaissa / Northern FlamencoTakes the Andalusian Dog for a Walk (a performance)

Air Guitar World Championships

1. Ochi "Dainoji" Yosuke (Japan) 35.4
2. Clay "Bangers" Connolly (Australia) 34.8
3. Christian "Heart Buckboard" Sweep (Germany) 34.6
4. Gabriele "The Hoxton Creeper" Matzeu (United Kingdom) 33.9
5. Takeshi "Takeshi the SAMURI Kongochi" Kongochi (Japan) 33.8
6. Craig "Hot Lixx Hulahan" Billmeier (United States) 33.7
6. Rainer "Le Freak" Fussgänger (Austria) 33.7
8. Romain "Sideburn" Lesaffre (France) 33.4
9. Christian "Der Prettauer" Steinhauer (Italy) 33.1
10. Benjamin "Helmutt" Greaney (New Zealand) 32.7
11. Karita "Rässi Rinsessa" Kivioja (Finland) 16.7
11. Michael "The Destroyer" Heffels (The Netherlands) 16.7
11. Igmar "Iggy Stardust" De Haan (The Netherlands) 16.7
11. Eero "Oulun oma poika" Ojala (Finland) 16.7
15. Max "Max" Heller (Austria) 16.4
16. Kanagawa "Super IQ" IQ (Japan) 16.2
17. Terje "Doc" Stephansen (Norway) 15.7

Silakka Clubs

(45 Special, Never Grow Old, Rattori-Lupi, Time Tunnel/Foxia, Club Teatria)

Ceebrolistics & 45 Special Extra / Superchrist / Underwater Sleeping Society / Magenta Skycode / Emmi / Siiri Nordin / The Others / Alamaailman Vasarat / Marzi Nyman & Niko Kumpuvaara Duo / La Pandilla / Matti Johannes Koivu / Grand Manoeuvre / DJ Soul Meister (GER) / DJ A.L.E.X. / Utah Saints (GB) / ACCU / DJ Felix / Infekto & Will Power a.k.a. Mr. Willy / DJ Teemu P / J-Honey / Ken-Guru / Yari / The Sweatmaster / The Crash